thoughts

fin

About 5 years ago I started writing stuff on this blog, and in less than a month an invoice will come to renew the domain registration and to pay for another year of hosting, which I will be declining to pay.

The blog has served its purpose, but it no longer has a purpose.

In the 5 years since I began writing I have transitioned from being a heckling coffee hobbyist, to someone who works not in the coffee industry, but in a closely related industry, and with a company for whom coffee is a core focus. In some way, oddly, this blog has helped facilitate that. It gave my loud mouth an undeserved soapbox, it introduced me to a whole world of people, many now friends.

I can’t say that I look back fondly on all that I have written.

As a collective (coffee geeks/specialty industry talking heads / starfuckers and starfuckees) we lend too much credence to unbridled theorists. The positive reinforcement from comments, retweets, attention perpetuates this kind of malignant behaviour. It becomes self-fueling, and unfortunately (or fortunately depending on your point of view) it can be rewarding in a roundabout way.

Thought is cheap though. Developing a compelling, yet ultimately shallow narrative is also cheap, and easy (see most TED talks). Action, work, making something, creating change is much more difficult and often less heralded. I hope to do more of the latter and less of the former.

The eulogy probably deserves a more positive conclusion, so I will leave it to the videos embedded below to elevate the gaiety.

Thanks.

 

Fergus tells it like it is from David Walsh on Vimeo.

Requiem for Atlanta (VacPot of Glory) from David Walsh on Vimeo.

2009 Irish Barista Championship from David Walsh on Vimeo.

Standard