Places and Faces

Passing It On

One of the great things I enjoy about coffee, is sharing a coffee I love with someone. Recently I’ve been running Saturday cupping sessions at 3FE, and seeing week after week people getting those new experiences has been really fulfilling. I also feel I spend far too much time on this blog being cantankerous, this I hope will be my penance for dozens of long winded blog posts.

I don’t know if this is going to work, in the cold light of the morning it may seem shockingly naive, but here goes. The first person to comment on this post gets a bag of coffee of my choosing from a roaster of my choosing (and an email explaining my choice). However, by commenting you are committing to do the same for the next person to comment (in a timely manner – you shall be held on your honour), and so on and so forth.

I don’t know who that person may be, where in the world they may be, but I do already have some candidate coffees in my mind. Cups I’d love to share. Their locale will probably influence my choice – eg probably wouldn’t send a bag of coffee from one of Hasbean / SqM / JGC to someone based in the UK as they could already be quite familiar with their offerings etc.

I will pass on/coordinate postal addresses if you forward them to me via the contact page (after commenting).

*edit* don’t forget to send me your address!

Standard

29 thoughts on “Passing It On

  1. I applaud the intent, commit to its continuance and revel in the challenge I set you should I be the first comment
    Indulgent friday night intake dulls a caustic dismissal of this as being a high-fallutin chain letter. Rather, I’m intrigued by its transparent traceability, rendering it worthwhile

  2. David, this is great. When I first got into coffee there was something called “The Tradition” where some cool coffee thing was made available to all the members of the email list but if you accepted it, then you agreed to offer an equally awesome coffee thing next time. Been going on for years and years with no break as far as I know. I miss that, so I’m in.

  3. Joyce Klassen says:

    Sign me up! If I promise to bring you REALLY freshly roasted coffee from some fabulous micro roasters in the San Francisco Bay Area at the end of June, will you send me a bag of beans? (to address close to Waterford). And I’m OK if it’s Hasbeans as I haven’t tried any from them yet. Cheers.

    *mod edit* Joyce gets a bag from Wolfram – and passes a bag on to the next person. Mmm tasty west coast micro roaster coffee.

  4. Andrew says:

    I’ll take some Intelli! I’ll see if I can find something reasonably unique to this part of the world (Western Australia) most probably a direct trade PNG…

  5. Mark says:

    This is a really good idea which I like the basis of a lot as it’s a way of discovering new types of coffee, possibly stuff you wouldn’t always try.

  6. Khannie says:

    Game on! I’m in Ireland. I will send on some of the delicious stuff I have in my press from hasbean. Yummy.

  7. Joe says:

    Aussie coffee eh? Count me in.

    I’m in Ireland and buy only the best from here and [mainly] abroad.

Comments are closed.